Independent media needs you. Join the Tyee.


The Hook: Political news, freshly caught

Clark sworn in as premier, reveals cabinet

BC Liberal leader Christy Clark was sworn in as premier of British Columbia today and announced a smaller cabinet that was as notable for who was left out as for who is in it.

"Today I'm truly humbled to be taking office as your premier," said Clark in a ceremony at government house in Victoria. "Our new government recognizes this is time for a change."

New to cabinet were Don McRae, Terry Lake and Harry Bloy, the only MLA who endorsed Clark in her leadership bid. McRae will be minister of agriculture, Lake minister of environment and Bloy minister of social development, which includes responsibility for multiculturalism.

Out were former finance and health minister Colin Hansen, leadership candidate and former advanced education minister Moira Stilwell, education minister Margaret MacDiarmid, environment minister Murray Coell, small business and technology minister Iain Black, tourism, culture and the arts minister Kevin Krueger, citizens' services minister Ben Stewart, climate action minister of state John Yap and mining minister of state Randy Hawes.

Returning to cabinet are leadership candidates Kevin Falcon (finance and deputy premier), Mike de Jong (health) and George Abbott (education). Blair Lekstrom, who quit cabinet last year over how the HST was handled and recently rejoined the Liberal caucus, returns as transportation and infrastructure minister.

In total there are 18 cabinet ministers, down from 24 in outgoing premier Gordon Campbell's last cabinet. There were also 10 parliamentary secretaries appointed.

The cabinet is:

* Premier - Christy Clark

* Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance - Kevin Falcon

* Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation - Mary Polak

* Minister of Advanced Education - Naomi Yamamoto

* Minister of Agriculture - Don McRae

* Attorney General - Barry Penner

* Minister of Children and Family Development - Mary McNeil

* Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development - Ida Chong

* Minister of Education - George Abbott

* Minister of Energy and Mines (minister responsible for Housing) - Rich Coleman

* Minister of Environment - Terry Lake

* Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations - Steve Thomson

* Minister of Health - Michael de Jong

* Minister of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation - Pat Bell

* Minister of Labour, Citizens' Services and Open Government - Stephanie Cadieux

* Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General - Shirley Bond

* Minister of Social Development (minister responsible for multiculturalism) - Harry Bloy

* Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure - Blair Lekstrom

Andrew MacLeod is The Tyee’s Legislative Bureau Chief in Victoria. Reach him here.

Find more in:

What have we missed? What do you think? We want to know. Comment below. Keep in mind:


  • Verify facts, debunk rumours
  • Add context and background
  • Spot typos and logical fallacies
  • Highlight reporting blind spots
  • Ignore trolls
  • Treat all with respect and curiosity
  • Connect with each other

Do not:

  • Use sexist, classist, racist or homophobic language
  • Libel or defame
  • Bully or troll
  • Troll patrol. Instead, flag suspect activity.
comments powered by Disqus