Independent media needs you. Join the Tyee.

The Hook: Political news, freshly caught

Following the federal byelections online

The three federal byelections today will receive extensive online coverage, and results will start coming in at 7 p.m. Pacific Standard Time. Here are the links to websites, blogs and Twitter feeds that will provide the earliest and fullest information.

Elections Canada will post preliminary results starting at 10 p.m. Eastern Standard Time for Durham (Ontario), Calgary Centre (Alberta), and Victoria (B.C.).

The major candidates in Durham are Grant Humes (L), Larry O'Connor (NDP) and Erin O'Toole (CPC). On Twitter, follow Humes here, follow O'Connor here, and follow O'Toole here.

In Calgary Centre, the chief candidates are Joan Crockatt (CPC), Harvey Locke (L), Dan Meades (NDP), and Chris Turner (G). On Twitter, follow Crockatt here, follow Locke here, follow Meades here, and follow Turner here.

Victoria's chief candidates are Donald Galloway (G), Dale Gann (CPC), Murray Rankin (NDP), and Paul Summerville (L). On Twitter, follow Galloway here, follow Gann here, follow Rankin here, and follow Summerville here.

In the Twitterverse, hashtags to track include #cdnpoli for general commentary, #byelxn41 for news of the by-elections, #Durham for Ontario comments, #yycentre for Calgary Centre, and #yyjbyelxn for Victoria.

CPAC will offer streaming video coverage of the results. Among reporters and the commentariat, tweeters to follow include Aaron Wherry, Pundits' Guide, Jennifer Ditchburn, John Ivison, and Stephen Maher. Others will no doubt appear in the online discussions as well.

Crawford Kilian is a contributing editor of The Tyee.

What have we missed? What do you think? We want to know. Comment below. Keep in mind:


  • Verify facts, debunk rumours
  • Add context and background
  • Spot typos and logical fallacies
  • Highlight reporting blind spots
  • Ignore trolls
  • Treat all with respect and curiosity
  • Connect with each other

Do not:

  • Use sexist, classist, racist or homophobic language
  • Libel or defame
  • Bully or troll
  • Troll patrol. Instead, flag suspect activity.
comments powered by Disqus