Independent media needs you. Join the Tyee.

The Hook: Political news, freshly caught

BC New Democrats gather to pick new leader

New Democratic Party members have gathered at the Vancouver Convention Centre to choose a leader to replace Carole James.

Adrian Dix, Mike Farnworth, John Horgan and Dana Larsen are running for the job that came open when James resigned in December.

Some 60 percent of the party's 28,000 members voted in the advance voting, provincial secretary Jan O'Brien said.

First ballot results are scheduled to be announced at 4:45 p.m., and the winner is expected to be announced at 6:10 p.m. today.

Vancouver West End MLA Spencer Chandra Herbert and secretary treasurer of the B.C. Federation of Labour Irene Lanzinger are hosting the convention.

The BC NDP is streaming video live from the convention on its website.

Andrew MacLeod is The Tyee’s Legislative Bureau Chief in Victoria. Reach him here.

Find more in:

What have we missed? What do you think? We want to know. Comment below. Keep in mind:


  • Verify facts, debunk rumours
  • Add context and background
  • Spot typos and logical fallacies
  • Highlight reporting blind spots
  • Ignore trolls
  • Treat all with respect and curiosity
  • Connect with each other

Do not:

  • Use sexist, classist, racist or homophobic language
  • Libel or defame
  • Bully or troll
  • Troll patrol. Instead, flag suspect activity.
comments powered by Disqus