Independent media needs you. Join the Tyee.

The Hook: Political news, freshly caught

NDP leader James names MLAs to critic roles

VICTORIA – British Columbia opposition leader Carole James named a shadow cabinet today that keeps several senior New Democratic Party MLAs in the same critic roles they held before the election, shuffles others and finds room for newcomers.

“It's a mix of returning experienced MLAs and some new faces,” said James. “It's a team that's already hit the ground running and that's out there doing the hard work on behalf of British Columbians.”

James kept Bruce Ralston on finance, Adrian Dix on health services, Leonard Krog as Attorney General critic and Mike Farnworth on Public Safety and Solicitor General.

She moved Rob Fleming to environment, Shane Simpson to housing and social development and Maurine Karagianis to children and family development. Nicholas Simons will have a deputy critic role on housing and social development.

Bob Simpson will cover aboriginal relations and reconciliation, Scott Fraser community and rural development, Robin Austin education, Norm Macdonald forests, Raj Chouhan labour, Spencer Herbert tourism, culture and the arts, Harry Bains transportation and infrastructure, Jenny Kwan small business, technology and economic development, and John Horgan energy, mines and petroleum resources.

Among newly elected MLAs, Lana Popham will be on agriculture and lands and Dawn Black and Michelle Mungall will be critic and deputy critic respectively for advanced education and labour market development.

“I felt it was very important to have an experienced team up in the front bench, but also to put some new faces there,” said James. “I think you'll see a more determined team than you saw in the first four years.”

Some will be unhappy with their assignments, she acknowledged. “I wouldn't think as leader you ever make everyone happy. I think if you've made everyone happy you haven't done your job.”

Farnworth will continue as opposition house leader, Katrine Conroy will be the whip and Claire Trevena will be nominated as assistant deputy speaker.

Andrew MacLeod is The Tyee’s Legislative Bureau Chief in Victoria. Reach him here.

Find more in:

What have we missed? What do you think? We want to know. Comment below. Keep in mind:


  • Verify facts, debunk rumours
  • Add context and background
  • Spot typos and logical fallacies
  • Highlight reporting blind spots
  • Ignore trolls
  • Treat all with respect and curiosity
  • Connect with each other

Do not:

  • Use sexist, classist, racist or homophobic language
  • Libel or defame
  • Bully or troll
  • Troll patrol. Instead, flag suspect activity.
comments powered by Disqus