Independent media needs you. Join the Tyee.

The Hook: Political news, freshly caught

NDP's Dix reassigns several senior critic roles in new shadow cabinet

New Democratic Party leader Adrian Dix has shaken up some of the more high profile critic roles in the new shadow cabinet announced today.

Long time finance critic Bruce Ralston will now be responsible for international trade, the Asia Pacific strategy, multiculturalism, immigration and intergovernmental relations. He will also continue to chair the legislature's public accounts committee.

Mike Farnwoth, who came second to Dix in the 2011 leadership race, replaces Ralston in finance, moving from health.

Newly elected MLA Judy Darcy will be responsible for health. Darcy is a past national president of the Canadian Union of Public Employees and in recent years has been secretary-business manager for the Hospital Employees' Union in B.C..

Dix also moved Robin Austin, the MLA for Skeena, from education to cover the natural gas file. Rob Fleming moves to education and Spencer Chandra-Herbert replaces him on the environment portfolio.

Lana Popham moves to tourism and the arts, Nicholas Simons to agriculture and Carole James to social development. Leonard Krog and Kathy Corrigan remain on justice and John Horgan keeps energy and house leader.

The full list follows:

Mike Farnworth: Finance

Judy Darcy: Health

Rob Fleming: Education

David Eby: Advanced Education

Doug Donaldson: Aboriginal Relations

Nicholas Simons: Agriculture

Carole James: Children and Family Development

Shane Simpson: Core Review, Gaming, Liquor Modernization, BC Pavilion Corporation, Legislative Accountability

Gary Holman: Democratic Reform, and Deputy Critic, Environment and Deputy Critic, B.C. Ferries

John Horgan: Energy and House Leader

Spencer Chandra-Herbert: Environment

Norm Macdonald: Forest, Lands and Natural Resource Operations

Bill Routley: Deputy Critic, Forestry

George Heyman: Technology, Innovation, Citizens’ Services, responsible for Green Jobs, TransLink

Jenny Kwan: Housing and CLBC

Mable Elmore: ICBC, Deputy Critic Finance

Bruce Ralston: International Trade, Asia Pacific Strategy, Multiculturalism, Immigration, Intergovernmental Relations and Chair, Public Accounts Committee

Harry Bains: Jobs, Employment, Labour and Worksafe BC

Leonard Krog: Justice (Attorney General)

Kathy Corrigan: Justice (Public Safety and Solicitor General)

Selina Robinson: Local Government and Sports

Sue Hammell: Mental Health and Addictions, Deputy House Leader

Robin Austin: Natural Gas Development

Jennifer Rice: Rural and Northern Health, Deputy Critic Children and Family Development

Scott Fraser: Rural Economic Development, Mining and Fisheries

Katrine Conroy: Seniors and Seniors Health, Columbia River Treaty, Columbia Power

Doug Routley: Skills Training

Lana Popham: Small Business, Tourism, Arts and Culture

Jane Shin: Deputy Critic, Small Business, Tourism, Arts and Culture

Michelle Mungall: Social Development

Claire Trevena: Transportation, Highways and B.C. Ferries

Maurine Karagianis: Women’s Issues, Child Care and Early Learning, Shipbuilding

Raj Chouhan: Assistant Deputy Speaker (Designate)

Andrew MacLeod is The Tyee's Legislative Bureau Chief in Victoria. Find him on Twitter or reach him here.

Find more in:

What have we missed? What do you think? We want to know. Comment below. Keep in mind:


  • Verify facts, debunk rumours
  • Add context and background
  • Spot typos and logical fallacies
  • Highlight reporting blind spots
  • Ignore trolls
  • Treat all with respect and curiosity
  • Connect with each other

Do not:

  • Use sexist, classist, racist or homophobic language
  • Libel or defame
  • Bully or troll
  • Troll patrol. Instead, flag suspect activity.
comments powered by Disqus